Arriving in Matsuyama on Sunday by ferry, I arrived at the hotel late afternoon and decided to take it easy, catch up on some blogging and photo processing, and, of course, laundry.  The one meal of consequence on Sunday night was straight out of the guidebooks – Tori-sen, a restaurant specializing in free-range gourmet-chicken.  Finding the place was a chore, but perserverence and a bit of luck paid off.

Tori-sen serves chicken just about anyway you can think of – except maybe fully cooked.  I couldn’t read the menu, so went with their recommended setto – but made sure I got the sashimi as well.  Yes, raw chicken – which, when raised and handled properly is just fine.  I’m still alive, and out of all the variety I had, the tori sashimi and the gyoza were the best – in fact, I think the gyoza were the best I’ve ever head.

The next day, I decided to stick around town and start by seeing the castle, Matsuyama-Jō.  The book said their was a ropeway you could take, which turned out to be a gondola or a chair lift.  I opted to walk.

The castle was, well, a castle – worth seeing, and interesting enough to browse around inside.  The light rain, on again off again, not withstanding, of course.

Following the castle I decided to head straight towards the Dōgo Onsen.  Arriving via streetcar, I decided to wander through the Dōogo-kōen park first – the best time to visit the onsen was apparently around dinner time (when most of the japanese tourists would be getting dinner), so I had a couple of hours to walk around.

One of the many reasons people come to Shikoku is to do the 88 temple pilgrimage, and it just so happened one was within walking distance so I treked out to the 51st of them, Ishite-ji.

After taking in the temple, I proceeded to locate the Dōgo Onsen Honkan building, the main building of the onsen.  This is one of the most famous onsens in japan, and one where royalty visited, including the emperor.  I paid the fee which gave me access to all three baths, and proceeded to experience each one in turn – with some tea and cookies in between soaks.

Afterwards I headed back towards the tram, and was lucky enough to experience the Botchan Karakuri Clock (坊ちゃんからくり時計) near the station doing it’s thing.

Dinner was simple – grilled meat (yakiniku).  Then, off to bed.

